EPC Council

The executive council of the EPC will consist of the President, the President elect, the past President, the Secretary, the Treasurer and eight general councillors. The President will preside over the EPC for one year. The Secretary of the EPC or a Council member designated by the Secretary shall chair all meetings of the Council.


Responsibilities of the Council

The EPC is managed by the Council. The Council decides on all matters not specifically assigned to the General Assembly. The Council notably has the following responsibilities:
(A) Administration of the EPC business.
(B) Organisation of the annual EPC-meeting as detailed in Statutes of the EPC Article X.
(C) Delegation of responsibilities to sub-committees or working parties as appropriate.
(D) Approval of the accounts.
(E) Preparation and executing of rules and regulations for the management of the EPC.
For more information please see the Statutes of the EPC.





Matthias Löhr

Elected: 2016 (Oct 2017-Oct 2022)

Karolinska Institutet
SE-141 86 Stockholm

Phone: +46 8 5858-2431

Fax: +46 8 5858-2340


President For 2018


Markus Lerch         


Department of Medicine A
University Medicine Greifswald
Friedrich-Loeffler-Straße 23A
17489 Greifswald
Phone: +49-3834-867230
Fax: +49-3834-867234


Past President



Gábor Varga               


Department of Oral Biology
Semmelweis University
Nagyvárad sqr. 4.
Budapest H-1089
Phone: +36 1 2104415

email: varga.gabor@dent.semmelweis-univ.hu




President Elect


Anders Molven


Gade Laboratory for Pathology
Department of Clinical Medicine
Haukeland University Hospital
University of Bergen
N-5021 Bergen


Phone: +47-55973169
E-mail: anders.molven@uib.no



Rolf Graf

Elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2017)

Department of Surgery
University Hospital Zurich
Rämistrasse 100
8091 Zürich
Phone: +41 44 255 2071
Fax: +41 44 255 4449


Council Members - Basic Science



David Criddle

Elected: 2016 (Oct 2016-Oct 2019)

Institute of Translational Medicine
Dept of Cellular & Molecular Physiology,
Crown Street,
University of Liverpool,
L69 3BX
United Kingdom
Phone: +441517945351



Albrecht Neeße

Elected: 2017 (Oct 2017-Oct 2020)
Universitätsmedizin Göttingen
Robert-Koch-Str. 40
37075 Göttingen
Telefon +49 551 39 66326
Fax +49 551 39 19125




Gitta Maria

Elected: 2018 (Oct 2018-Oct 2021)


Department of Surgical Reseach
University Hospital Zurich
Rämistrasse 100
CH-8091 Zurich


Council Members - Clinical Science



Thilo Hackert

Elected: 2017 (Oct 2017-Oct 2020)


Klinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Transplantationschirurgie

Im Neuenheimer Feld 110

D-69120 Heidelberg


email: Thilo.Hackert@med.uni-heidelberg.de




Grzegorz Oracz

Elected: 2018 (Oct 2018-Oct 2021)


The Children's Memorial Helath Institute
Dep of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Feeding Disorders and Pediatrics
Al. Dzieci Polskich 20
04-730 Warsaw, Poland






Laszlo Czako

Elected: 2018 (Oct 2018-Oct 2021)


Department of  Medicine
University of Szeged, Hungary
Szeged, P.O.Box:427,H-6701, Hungary





Marco Del ChiaroMarco Del Chiaro.jpg     
Elected: 2013 

Department of Surgery,
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus



Former EPC Council Memers:

Viktoria Venglovecz          (General Councilor ; Basic Science)       elected : 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)

Gabriele Capurso            (General Councilor; Clinical Science)       elected : 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)

Natalia B Gurbergrits     (General Councilour; Clinical Science )    elected: 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)

William Greenhalf          (General Councilor; Basic Science);          elected: 2011 (Oct 2011-Oct 2014)  


Heiko Witt                      (General Councilor; Clinical Science);        elected: 2011 (Oct 2011-Oct 2014)


Daniela Basso               (General Councilor; Basic Science);           elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Ralf Segersvärd               (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Julia V. Mayerle               (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Alexei Tepikin                    (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2013 (Oct 2013-Oct 2016)